I know I have sort of dropped off the face of the earth.  I promise, I am still alive, I started my new job a few weeks ago, and am still getting used to my new commute, coworkers, job and routine.  I do have to say that working in downtown Boston is quite fabulous, even if I am tempted by countless stores and restaurants.  I’m trying to be good and continue to bring my own tea and lunch everyday.

Summer has also finally arrived here (both officially and in terms of weather)!  We had a slow start to June, which was unfortunate, considering that May was gorgeous.  We never have nice springs here in New England, and this year seemed to be the best one I can remember in a long time.  Let’s hope that we can continue the momentum and have a fantastic summer.  I’m looking forward to random beach days!

This recipe for chocolate whiskey pots de creme comes from Tartelette, who happens to be a woman named Helen, who lives in Charleston (my favorite!) by way of France.  If you don’t know her site, you should, as her pictures are to die for.  Mine does her recipe no justice, but she seems to have an amazing array of serving pieces.

The recipe is actually quite easy, and amazingly delicious.  I had to borrow some whiskey from some neighbors of ours, as I am not generally a brown liquor kind of girl (I am trying to expand my horizons).  The result was not overpowering at all, and the chocolate wasn’t too rich or sweet.  I definitely recommend this recipe, and I am pretty sure I used the whites to make either meringues or angel food cake.  Since I don’t have an ice cream maker I always end up wasting yolks when I make angel food cake, so now I can actually use all of the egg when making something that requires egg whites!

This is also a great entertaining recipe, since you can make it well in advance and you really have to do nothing to serve them except for take them out of the fridge!

Chocolate Whiskey Pots de Creme

Source: Tartelette

6 large egg yolks
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup whole milk (I had 1% and it still worked fine)
1 cup heavy cream
6 oz bittersweet chocolate
3 tablespoons to 1/4 cup Irish whiskey (I used the full 1/4 cup and didn’t think it was too overpowering)

Place 6 to 8 ramekins into a roasting pan and set aside. Preheat oven to 350F and position a rack in the center.

In a large bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the honey for 2-3 minutes.

In the meantime, bring the milk and cream to a simmer in a large saucepan set over medium high heat. Remove from the heat and add the chocolate to the mixture. Slowly whisk until the chocolate is completely melted. (return over low heat if it needs a bit more heat to dissolve). Slowly pour the chocolate mixture over the egg yolks and honey, whisking constantly until both mixtures come together. Add the whiskey and stir briefly.

Divide the chocolate batter evenly among the ramekins. Pour hot water into the roasting pan so that it reaches halfway up the sides of the dishes. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes or until the cream appears just set. Remove from the heat and let cool to room temperature. Refrigerate at least 2 hours before eating.

