I apologize for the lack of posting this week, things have been busy at casa pickyeatings.  We got new blinds for our 10 foot tall windows, and needless to say, I am excited to have real blinds and actual privacy.  It’s kind of fantastic.  I get excited about the little things.

This week I actually have a sweet recipe for you, after I have shared more soups and  stews and chili than you probably want all at once.  See, here in New England, the weather is fickle, and I can still be eating a slightly hearty soup in April or May.  One week it was almost 90, and then this week it barely got out of the 50’s.  This weekend is no exception, the Boston Marathon is Monday (aka we get the day off), and while the runners will probably love the weather in the 50’s, the residents won’t as much.

I found these blondies over on Erin Cooks, and had bookmarked it on my reader ages ago.  I am not usually a maker of blondies, I have a few bars in my recipe binder, but as you can probably tell, I am a cookie and cupcake fiend.  But when I saw these, they looked delicious, and seemed pretty easy.

And they were.  Anything that starts with a cup and a half of melted butter mixed with brown sugar is bound to be really good, right?  The first time I made them they were slightly undercooked, which made them gooey and delicious.  The second time I made them they were a little more solid, and not quite as good in my opinion, although the people eating them didn’t seem to mind, although now that I think of it, one was pregnant, so she ate about 5 regardless.  Speaking of which, I am going to be an aunt again!  That means I need to get my rear in gear and finish  the quilt I am making and have been working on for about a year and a half  and start another one for niece or nephew #2!

Make these blondies, you will probably have all the ingredients in your pantry already (I did) and you won’t be disappointed!

Blondies

Source: Erin Cooks/Cooks Illustrated

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (7 1/2 ounces)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
12 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), melted and cooled
1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar (10 1/2 ounces)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 ounces white chocolate chips (1 cup) or chopped bar, or 3 ounces each white chocolate and semisweet chocolate chips *

* As far as chocolate was concerned, I used some white chocolate chips I had laying around, and then started throwing in chocolate chips until I was satisfied.

Preheat oven to 350.

Cut 18-inch length foil and fold lengthwise to 8-inch width. Fit foil into length of 13 by 9-inch baking pan, pushing it into corners and up sides of pan; allow excess to overhang pan edges. Cut 14-inch length foil and fit into width of baking pan in same manner, perpendicular to first sheet (if using extra-wide foil, fold second sheet lengthwise to 12-inch width). Spray foil-lined pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt together in medium bowl; set aside. I never do this.

Whisk melted butter and brown sugar together in medium bowl until combined. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well. Using rubber spatula, fold dry ingredients into egg mixture until just combined; do not overmix. Fold in chocolate and nuts and turn batter into prepared pan, smoothing top with rubber spatula.

Bake until top is shiny, cracked, and light golden brown, 22 to 25 minutes; do not overbake. Cool on wire rack to room temperature. Remove bars from pan by lifting foil overhang and transfer to cutting board. Cut into 2-inch squares and serve.

