This is another soup recipe I found over at for the love of cooking, and Pam really knows her stuff.  I had bookmarked this one ages ago but was hesitant to make it because a) I didn’t have any fresh corn, and wouldn’t for months, and b) Brad is really not a corn fan.  I will eat corn at least once a week during the summer, but he won’t really touch the stuff unless he has to.  I do try to sneak it into certain things, but I knew corn chowder might be a tough sell.

(As you can see, I was playing with features on Picasa in the above photo)  Anyway, we both really loved this recipe, and I even made it with frozen corn, so I can only imagine how much better it will be with fresh corn.  The bacon flavor really plays through, and it’s not too heavy, even though there is half and half in it.  The potatoes add a nice heartiness, and all in all I really loved it.  I will definitely be making it again and again.  It’s also perfect with a few slices of crusty, homemade bread.  Not to mention it makes really fabulous leftovers, and Brad even told me I didn’t give him enough for lunch the next day.  In my defense, I was trying to stretch it so we could each have lunch for two days in a row.

As you might have noticed, I’m a huge fan of soups, especially easy, delicious (and cheap!) ones.  I know we’re getting into spring, and no one really wants a hearty soup anymore, but here in New England it will be 70 one day and 50 the next.  Even though it’s really nice here, I managed to score a ham bone from Easter dinner, and I will be making pea soup (and sharing the recipe, of course) this weekend.  Hey, it’s supposed to go down to the 50’s this weekend, so what better food to make?

Corn Chowder with Potatoes and Bacon

Source: for the love of cooking

3-5 slices bacon (I had thick cut pepper bacon, and it was delicious)
1 medium yellow onion, diced
4 cups fresh corn kernels (about 7 ears) I actually used 4 cups thawed frozen corn, and it was delicious
1/2 tsp chopped fresh thyme
3 garlic cloves, minced
4 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 cup 1% reduced-fat milk
1 cup half-and-half
16 oz fingerling potatoes, diced (our grocery store didn’t have fingerlings, so I used baby yellow potatoes)
Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste

Cook bacon in a large Dutch oven over medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan; crumble. Add onion to drippings in pan; cook 8 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Add corn, chopped thyme, and garlic to pan; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in broth, milk, half-and-half, and potatoes; bring to a simmer. Cover and cook 20-30 minutes or until potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally.

Using an immersion blender, blend about 3/4 of soup in pot.  You can also use a regular blender and blend about 2 cups of the soup and stir back into pot.  Stir in salt and black pepper; sprinkle with crumbled bacon. Enjoy.

