Recently I have been all about my crockpot.  Or slow cooker, or whatever you want to call it.  I have two of them, one large and one small, and would rarely use them.  As of late I have been challenging myself to use one at least once a week.  Not only have I been keeping up with said challenge, but I have also been trying lots of new recipes in them.

Some are great, like the chicken taco chili above.  Some aren’t as good, and could use a little revising.  This recipe in particular was great because all you do is dump everything in a crockpot and then turn it on and leave.  I have a cookbook that has tons of slow cooker recipes, but half of them require you to roast your chicken in advance, or saute this or cook that first.  And that makes me wonder, what’s the point of a slow cooker if you can’t just throw everything in and walk away?

This weekend I will be trying a black bean soup in my crockpot that requires me to saute some vegetables beforehand, which is why it didn’t make it into the weeknight rotation.  I can chop some veggies at 8am, but turning the stove on for anything but tea is pushing it.

This chili recipe is a good one to come home to on a cold evening.  Or even a mild evening, as I plan to cook good comforting food well into the spring.  It also happens to be Weight Watchers friendly, which we don’t really pay attention to around here, so bonus if you do.  It comes from Gina’s Weight Watcher Recipes (link below) and she has TONS of other WW friendly recipes.  Again, not like we pay attention around here.

Chicken Taco Chili

Source: Gina\’s Weight Watcher Recipes

1 onion, chopped
1 16-oz can black beans
1 16-oz can kidney beans
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
10 oz package frozen corn kernels
2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes w/chilies
1 packet taco seasoning
1 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp chili powder
24 0z. (3) boneless skinless chicken breasts
chili peppers, chopped

I used more chicken and less chili powder (mainly because I was out) so mine had a little less flavor as a result of not enough chili powder.  I didn’t put in chilies, but probably would next time around, just for some added flavor.

Add everything to slow cooker, except for chicken.  Place chicken on top of other ingredients.  Cook on low for 10 hours or high for 6 hours.  Before serving, remove chicken, shred, and add back into slow cooker.

Serve with rice, Mexican cheese, and if you like (I don’t) sour cream and cilantro.

