I know what you’re probably thinking.  Lindsey made a vegetarian recipe, like on purpose?  I know, it’s shocking.  I almost can’t believe it myself.  But this is what happens when you have quite a few friends who are in fact vegetarians, and who come over for dinner, all at once.  In the winter.

If you know anything about me at this point, it’s that I a) love meat, and b) love to throw dinner parties.  In fact, B’s birthday is next week, and I’m trying to convince him to have a dinner party-esque birthday.  But I digress.  I had some friends over in January, and took to the web in trying to find a vegetarian recipe that was both hearty and something I would eat.  I do eat tofu occasionally,  but I didn’t want to make something that was trying to be meat but wasn’t actually meat.  I wanted something that was truly meat free and wasn’t trying to taste like it had meat in it.

Somehow I came up with the idea of chili, and then just ran from there.  I looked at so many recipes, but SO many of them had veggie crumbles and the like.  I started to wonder if people could just eat chili that was lots and lots of beans.  Think of the amazing amounts of delicious protein!  I also happen to be on a big bean kick (along with lentils, where have they been all my life?), so the recipe I ended up making was perfect.  Not to mention it was amazingly easy, since it was literally tons and tons of canned beans, canned tomatoes, and frozen corn.

Everyone seemed to really enjoy it, and I might actually try and make it again, not just for vegetarians.  I ended up with much larger cans of beans than the recipe originally called for, and had chili to last a week.  Which I normally would not be OK with, but I was inspired by Alejandra at Always Order Dessert and her post on reducing food waste, and now I’m a freezing of leftovers queen.  It’s perfect for winter, and also for when I don’t necessarily have enough dinner leftover to make a lunch for the next day.  It’s working fabulously so far!

Vegetarian Chili

Adapted From:  Happy Tummy

1  can black bean soup (I’m pretty sure my can was something like 33 ounces)
1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
1  can vegetarian baked beans (again, my can was enormous)
1 (14.5 ounce) can chopped tomatoes in puree
1 1/2 cups frozen whole kernel corn
1 onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon chili powder, or to taste
1 tablespoon dried parsley
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon dried basil

You can make this in a slow cooker, but I did it on the stove.

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil, until somewhat translucent.  Add in bell pepper and saute for a few minutes.  Add in remaining ingredients, cover and cook on low for about 2 hours.  Serve on top of rice, and top chili with cheese.  This makes a HUGE batch, so it’s perfect for a party!

