This recipe happens to be one of my very favorite that I discovered within the past year.  I don’t know why I haven’t shared it already, probably because I can never seem to take a good picture of tons and tons of gingersnaps taking over my kitchen counter.  Literally.  This recipe makes dozens upon dozens.

These cookies are on the smallish side, which makes it easy to consume 10 of them and not realize what just happened.  They’re also absolutely perfect with a cup of tea, they are light and crispy and not too spicy.  B’s office now requests them on a regular basis.  Generally they just ask for baked goods (really I should be credited with providing happiness for his group or section or subsection or whatever you want to call it), but sometimes he will come home and tell me that so and so asked for gingersnaps.  And then I go, who is that again?  He works with too many people to keep them all straight sometimes.

Anyway, this recipe comes from Mark Bittman and his gigantic How to Cook Everything.  I discovered these when I was looking for a new cookie to try, and I was not disappointed.  They are pretty easy to make (you roll them into a log and slice off, how hard is that), and like I said, you will make  a ton of them.

Gingersnaps

1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 cup molasses
1 heaping tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg (jarred works fine too)
1/8 tsp. ground cloves
1/4 tsp. ground allspice
1 heaping tablespoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
pinch salt

Using an electric mixer, cream together butter, sugar, and molasses until smooth.  Mix the baking soda with 2 tablespoons hot water and beat into the dough.

Combine the flour, spices, and salt in a bowl (I never do this step).  Add the dry ingredients to the dough and beat well.  Shape the dough into 2 long logs, wrap in wax paper or parchment paper, cover in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.  You can also freeze the dough at this step.

Heat oven to 350.  Slice the cookies as thin as you can and bake on ungreased baking sheets until golden around the edges, about 10 minutes, watching carefully to prevent burning.  Use a spatula to transfer the cookies to a rack and cool.  Store in a tightly covered container at room temperature for up to several days.

You can also sprinkle with raw sugar before baking for a little extra something.  I happen to have a 2 pound box that I’m trying to use up.

