I happen to be a large fan of cinnamon buns.  We would always have them on Christmas day.  When I was a freshman in college I would grab a cinnamon bun and one of those sickeningly sweet starbucks bottled coffee drinks every Tuesday morning before sitting through art history.  I don’t know how I didn’t gain a million pounds in college.

I was planning to make cinnamon buns for Christmas  and bring them to my in laws house, but I was using my tried and true, but long recipe.  You have to make the dough overnight, and then assemble and bake, and I just ran out of steam right before Christmas.  I did make the dough, but never did anything with it.

We ended up having a New Years Day brunch, and I had found a different recipe for cinnamon buns at Delicious Meliscious, and joy of joys, they only took a few hours!  They also made 12 delicious, fluffy, cinnamon buns.  Definitely a winner in our book, and I plan to keep making this recipe.

I made them a day ahead of time (up through the second rise) and then popped them in the fridge.  I took them out at least an hour before baking, and then baked them as instructed.  They came out great, and someday I hope to make them all in one sitting.  I also didn’t make cream cheese frosting for them (B refuses to eat cream cheese frosting) so I did a regular confectioner’s sugar and milk icing.

I even had to break out a ruler to make sure my rectangle was large enough, and I still ended up with the small, odd-shaped ends.  It doesn’t matter what they look like, they’re still delicious and perfect for breakfast or with tea.

Cinnamon Buns

Dough

1 cup warm milk (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
2 eggs, room temperature
1/3 cup butter, melted
4 1/2 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup white sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons yeast (I used active dry)

Filling

1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1/3 cup butter, softened

Icing

2 cups confectioner’s sugar
milk
1 tsp. vanilla

Dissolve yeast in warm milk (this didn’t really dissolve much, but it still worked) and then add eggs, butter, salt, and sugar. Add flour and mix well. Knead the dough into a large ball, using your hands dusted lightly with flour (or you can use a stand mixer with the dough hook). Put in a bowl, cover and let rise in a warm place about 1 hour, or until doubled in size.

After the dough has doubled in size turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, cover and let rest for 10 minutes. In a small bowl, combine butter, brown sugar and cinnamon.

Roll dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle. Spread dough evenly with sugar/cinnamon mixture. Roll up dough and cut into 12 rolls. Place rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan. Cover and let rise until nearly doubled, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Bake rolls in preheated oven until golden brown, about 15 minutes.

Mix together confectioner’s sugar, vanilla, and enough milk to make a creamy icing.  After rolls have come out of the oven, pour icing over the rolls and serve warm.

