P.S. I didn't go to BU, my husband did, and now I'm an enormous fan of their hockey team.

I know, I know.  Everyone and their mother is posting about the new year.  And guess what?  So am I!

I’m not usually so reflective on New Year’s Eve, generally I’m grumbling about our lack of “exciting” plans.  Since we rang in 2009 with a bang (that ended in a 2 day hangover in bed), this year we’re starting out with a nice quiet New Year’s.  We might go see some first night things, we might not.  I have half a mind to make a really nice dinner and sip champagne on the couch with the husband.  We’ll see what the weather does.

And for our first thing in 2010, well we’ll be having a brunch with the husband’s family.  I’ve seen so many posts about New Year’s brunches that I thought it was a fabulous idea.  Why do all your drinking on New Year’s Eve when you can do it the next day?  Mimosas and bloody mary’s anyone?

While for some 2009 wasn’t a great year, it had its ups and downs for me.  I am thankful that we still both have jobs, as I know many others were not so fortunate.  We were also lucky enough to be able to take advantage of the market and buy our first condo together.  We took some trips, some good, some eh.  I tried new things, including new dishes, as well as hiking.  Who would have thought?  My grandfather passed away suddenly.  Work was a challenge, with my boss leaving and we didn’t hire anyone else.

I don’t really know what 2010 will bring, and I’m OK with that.  I am not one to make resolutions, I would say I don’t believe in them, but that’s not quite right, as I know they exist.  There are things I would like to accomplish, but I don’t want to try to force myself to do them when I am expected to.  Like finish my quilt.  Or find a new job.  Try new recipes, and change my blog design.  When it happens, it will happen.

One thing I do know is that yesterday my horoscope said that next year could be my best ever.  Does that mean it’s all downhill from there?  I know I’m not going out to party like it’s 2010 tonight, but in a month I’ll be in Mexico with my family (so long as I don’t get snowed in here), and what better way to start a new year!

I hope you all have a great New Year!

