Last week the husband and I spent some much-needed time off in one of our favorite cities, Charleston, SC.  I know you have heard it time and again, that work has been crazy, life has been crazy (um, Thanksgiving is NEXT WEEK, and we are HOSTING).  And I appreciate you all being oh so patient with me.  I’m hoping to share some Thanksgiving hosting tips later this week, and of course once that’s over it means we have to plan for our holiday party.

It might sound like I’m complaining, but really, I live for this stuff.  Stressing over the table arrangement?  Yep, that’s me.  I figure with a giant statement table, I need my table to look good.  Really, really good.

Anyway, Charleston.  We ate our way around that city.  Which is what you really need to do when there, because who can resist some southern cooking?  Besides, we NEVER eat out at home any more (we always try to save money by eating at home), so this was a real treat.  We tried a few new places, and went to some old standbys.

So let’s see, we had lunch at Cru Cafe, which came highly recommended by my parents.  It was good, and nice to be able to sit outside on the porch on a rainy November day.  We could not usually do that here.  We also had dinner at Poe\’s Tavern, which is an old standby.  Being right around the corner from our friend’s beach house, it’s a great place to get a burger and a beer.  Or two, or three.

We had lunch at the Boulevard Diner, which I discovered on Yelp, and it didn’t disappoint.  It was super cheap, and delicious.  Another dinner at Jestine\’s Kitchen, which is also good old southern cooking at its best.  Yes, it’s a tourist place, but that doesn’t stop me.  I’m a tourist, and Charleston has a tourist heavy economy, so what’s to stop me from wanting a plate of fried chicken the size of my head?  I also finally tried sweet tea there (don’t ask why I haven’t had it yet, I’ve only been going to Charleston for 10 years now), and I now know what I had been missing.

We were able to grab lunch outside at the Southend Brewery on our last day, which happened to be absolutely beautiful.  And after that we finally got cupcakes from Cupcake and the red velvet didn’t fail to deliver.  The frosting was pretty amazing.

I’m sad to be back to the grind, and back in the cold north, but at least I have Thanksgiving to look forward to.

