Crockpot, slow cooker, call it what you want, but it makes life easy when you’re busy and want a delicious meal.  Sure, it’s not fast, but basically throw some ingredients in the pot, turn it on for anywhere between 2-10 hours, and bam, you have a meal.

Of course you have to make sure and get up early enough to get it started, otherwise you’ll be eating dinner at 11pm.  Another key to slow cooking is to make sure there is enough liquid in the pot, covering as much as your meat or veggies as possible.

I have made short ribs that were falling off the bone at the bottom of the pot, and slightly dry at the top.  The reason?  Not enough liquid covering the meat.  So now I always make a point to use enough.

Pot roast is one of those American dishes that make me think of Sunday dinners.  My mother didn’t really make it, but I know her mother did.  I have tried to make it the traditional way, and I failed.  It was dry and kind of bland.  This recipe I found in a slow cooker cookbook, and it’s almost a different take on my beef stew, as it has a lot of similar flavors.

It’s definitely a keeper, and I plan to keep making it in the future.

Slow cooker pot roast

One 4 to 5 pound chuck roast, trimmed of fat
3 medium yellow onions, thinly sliced
2 cups baby carrots
8 to 12 medium sized red or white new potatoes, quartered
1/2 cup ketchup
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 tb. Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
2 tb. minced fresh rosemary
1/2 cup boiling water

Put  the roast into the slow cooker.  Add the onions, carrots, and potatoes.

In a small bowl, combine ketchup, vinegar, Worcestershire,  salt, pepper, rosemary, and boiling water.  Pour over the meat and vegetables.  Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

To serve, transfer meat to a cutting board to carve.  Serve slices of meat and vegetables with some of the fragrant juices poured over them.

