I can’t believe I haven’t shared this recipe with you yet.  What’s wrong with me?  Pesto is one of those things, like marinara sauce, that everyone should know how to whip up.  Do you want to know a secret?  I didn’t eat pesto for years.  YEARS.  I was weirded out by it as a child.  It was green!  And unknown!

When my mom would make pesto pasta during the summer, she would have to make regular pasta for my brother and I, as neither of us would touch the pesto.  Well mom, I’m sorry, I have finally seen the light, and I now know what I was missing.

This recipe is probably like countless others, but it happens to be the one I use, and so that means I’m going to share it with you.  I use it with my Pesto Pasta, which I will share with you very soon.  It’s one of those perfect summer dishes, that is amazing for a cookout, or just by itself.

Unfortunately I haven’t branched out too far in my usages of pesto, unless you count pizza.  I always have some left over (and it does freeze well), so I tend to put it on my pizza.  And yes, I do make pizza in the summer.  That’s the joy of having central air.  You can cook whatever you want, whenever you want.

This recipe comes from Dave Lieberman and is featured in the “Food Network Favorites” cookbook.  I have seen a variation that uses broccoli in it, which is genius if you ask me, as I can’t stand broccoli, but I know it’s oh so good for you.

Pesto

5 big handfuls of basil leaves (about 2 healthy bunches) I have to buy mine, as I kill every basil plant I get near
1/2 cup pine nuts or 3/4 cup walnuts
1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan or pecorino cheese
Juice of 1 lemon
2 cloves of garlic, peeled
Kosher salt
About 20 grinds freshly ground black pepper
3/4 cup olive oil

Yields about 1 1/2 cups

Place all ingredients with 1/2 cup of oil in a food processor or a blender (if you have neither, I don’t really know what to tell you.  I know they made pesto before those things existed, but I have no idea how) and blend.  With the motor running, gradually drizzle in remaining 1/4 cup of olive oil until pesto is thick and smooth.

