I love tequila.  I’m just going to throw that out there for all to know.  I don’t know how, or why, but I do.  I don’t like rum or gin, so I stick to tequila and vodka.  I’m not saying I drink either of those every day, it’s more of a rare occasion that I bring them out of their spots in our fabulous new liquor cabinet.  But when I do, I generally make something special, like these margaritas.

This recipe originally comes from Ina Garten and one of her cookbooks.  They were featured at my joint college graduation party that my childhood best friend and I had.  Apparently much taste testing was done (I wasn’t included, as I live in Boston), and these were decided on.  I took that recipe, and ran.  I always try and make these for cookouts (although not as much as I used to, as they can be slightly labor intensive), or if we’re having something special for dinner and want to have a cocktail or two.

I was glad to go to Mexico for my honeymoon (and I am headed back to that fabulous country this winter, and couldn’t be more excited), and was happy that not only did they make good margaritas, but they had a TEQUILA bar.  So we did tequila tastings, and became friends with the bartender.  He would make us whatever we wanted, and one night my husband had a mosquito margarita, as it bites at the end.  It was gross, and he drank the whole thing, out of principle.

Anyway, back to this recipe.  I tend to use a good tequila (and we have many different kinds), and I actually like white, or blanco best.  Fresh lime juice is key.  If you really have to use the bottled stuff, that’s fine, but the fresh stuff is the best.  Which is why making large batches of these can be a pain.  I originally got a juicer attachment for my kitchenaid mixer, but then my mother got me a lime squeezer (as well as a lemon one), and those are just as easy, minus all the setup.

Margaritas

(serves 4)

1 cup tequila
1/2 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 cup triple sec (if you want to make them blue, just add a dash of blue curacao)
a whole lot of ice

Fill blender with ice, and then add in tequila, lime juice, and triple sec.  Blend until smooth, and remember, you can always add more ice.  I still have yet to make them the consistency you will find at a restaurant or bar, but they’re still frozen.  If you like salt, wet the edge of your glass and roll in “margarita” salt, or any coarse salt you might have.  I happen to not like salt on mine at all.  Pour and enjoy!

