While I was on my staycation (which yes, I know, was almost a month ago at this point) I cooked lots of new things to share with you guys, which I am slowly doing now (so I don’t quickly run out of recipes to share!).  One of those things was fajitas.  My husband and I make tacos and nachos all the time (yes, using the prepackaged taco seasoning), and one day I was wondering why we never made fajitas.

Fajitas always show up in restaurants, and my mom’s friend used to make them for us all the time when I was growing up.  So I set out to try and find a recipe, only to find that you really don’t need one.

Since I had made the chicken drumsticks the weekend before, I just sort of  repeated that marinade, throwing in some more spices to kick it up a notch.  Basically I went through my spice cabinet and started shaking containers into my marinating bowl.  I chopped up the requisite peppers and onions, made guac (still need to share that recipe), bought salsa (I know, I know), and made rice.

You may be asking, but why in the world would you put rice in them?  And I don’t really know, it’s just how we had them when I was growing up, so I figured why not.  I also grilled my chicken before adding it to the veggies, but you can cook it however you want.  The grilled chicken was nice though, as it was juicy and tender.

I also made a batch (or two) of my favorite margaritas, which  I will share the recipe next.  They are awesome, and incredibly saucy.  I mix my drinks pretty aggressively.  What you get in a bar is totally watered down, and I don’t play that game at home, unless you don’t actually like alcohol in your drinks.  And then I will attempt to make you a less saucy version.

Chicken Fajitas

2-3 boneless chicken breasts (we could have done 2, we had tons of leftovers)
marinade – lime juice, orange juice, worcestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, garlic, chili powder, ground oregano, ground basil
2 cups prepared rice
1 red pepper, sliced thin
1 green pepper, sliced thin
1 onion, sliced thin
mexican cheese
tortillas (I used whole wheat)
guac
salsa
sour cream (optional, and  I don’t use it, but I know people like it)
olive oil
chicken stock (optional)

Combine marinade  ingredients (you can basically use anything you like,t hat is just what I used) and marinate chicken for about an hour.

Once chicken is marinated, grill until cooked, or you can prepare any other way you prefer.

Slice your veggies and set aside.  Once chicken has been cooked and cooled a bit, slice the chicken into strips.

Add some olive oil to a hot pan and saute your veggies to desired level of doneness (I don’t like mine too cooked).  Add in chicken, and I also like to add in a bit of chicken stock, just to give it some liquid.

Assemble your fajitas with rice first, then chicken and veggies, and then various toppings.  They could not  be easier to make, and are always delicious.

