Any sort of chicken on the bone is a real treat for me, as my husband really doesn’t like it, for some reason.  I guess I can understand how it can be sort of weird, with the bones and the skin, and the tendons.  But really, the bones are where all the flavor is.  Why do you think we make stock from bones?

Earlier this summer we were at a bbq at a new neighbor’s house, and she grilled chicken legs.  My husband was very good natured and took one, along with a smattering of other meats (this woman knows how to throw a killer bbq, by the way).  He then devoured it and took another.  Her explanation of her marinade was vague, involving mustard and garlic and herbs, but I knew I had to try and recreate it.

So a few weeks ago we tried our own version.  By the way, do you know how stinking cheap chicken legs are?  Rediculously cheap.  We got a TON for under $10.  It was awesome.

Somehow I got stuck grilling them, and some of them came apart, as they totally stuck to the grill.  Not sure what the trick is to avoid that, although I have heard of people putting down foil on the grill grates.  Somehow I feel like that is cheating, and you also won’t get good grill marks on your meat.  Regardless they were delicious, and I totally want to make them again.

Grilled Chicken Legs

Chicken legs (you can adjust amounts based on how many you have)
Lime Juice
Orange Juice
Honey
Worcestershire Sauce
Dijon Mustard
Dried Oregano
Dried Basil

I know I normally give far more instructions and amounts of ingredients, but this is really something to play around with.  Basically you want enough liquid to be able to marinate the chicken legs, and you can play with spices and sweetness.  Lame, I know.

Marinate the chicken legs for at least an hour, and then grill until they are done.  Chicken can be tricky to grill, you don’t want the grill to be too hot to blacken the outside but not touch the inside, but you also don’t want the chicken to become dry.

