One of the things I did during my staycation was cook.  A lot.  When we were house sitting for my parents, one of the things we did was go blueberry picking.  Now, those of you who happen to know a little bit about me know that I don’t actually EAT blueberries.  But man can I pick them.

One of the reasons we went blueberry picking was because my adorable not quite 2 year old nephew was with us, and he likes doing those kinds of things.  But he doesn’t eat them either.  His parents and my husband all definitely ate their fill of blueberries.

The day we went was beautiful, in the mid 70’s and sunny (unseasonably cool for August around these parts).  We went early in the morning (well at least for me, and especially on vacation), and the bushes were full of plump, juicy berries.  Not only did everyone eat them by the handful, I also made blueberry pancakes (regular for yours truly), and blueberry crisp.

Luckily my mother has a well appointed kitchen (although she has an electric stove, and being someone who cooks with gas now, I can’t stand electric), and I was able to make the crisp really easily.  I considered pie for about 2 seconds, and decided to be lazy and go with a crisp.  Anyone who likes pies (again, not so much me) generally likes crisps, or crumbles, or whatever you want to call them.  You get some sort of crispy crunchy top, and most importantly, you get the berries that have started to break down and join together in this gooey delicious mess.

Blueberry Crisp

6 cups blueberries, rinsed and lightly dried
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch salt
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 stick room temperature unsalted butter, cubed
Whipped cream or ice cream, or both, for topping

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Toss blueberries, cornstarch, sugar and a pinch of salt together in a bowl.

Combine flour, oats, brown and white sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and pecans in a bowl. Add butter and pinch into chunks. Mix until it looks crumbly.

Add the blueberries into a 2-quart baking dish. Top evenly with the crumb mixture. Bake for 40 minutes.  Serve with whatever toppings you might like!

