My fabulous friend Kelley, of My Achy Bakey Heart, recently celebrated her  24th birthday.  I keep her around to both make myself feel young, and also old, since I just celebrated my 27th birthday last month.

Anyway, Kelley and I share a love of books, as we met via book club.  We also share a love of certain vampires (yes, I read the Twilight series, but I love the Sookie Stackhouse books much, much more), and we will often get together to watch True Blood.  For a while I had to use her for her HBO, until I moved and we got it when we re-signed up for cable.

A week or so ago I bribed her to come watch with me, offering dinner and baked goods.  I decided to make these cupcakes, as I wanted to make something new.  I happen to own Amy Sedaris’ entertaining book I like you : Hospitality under the influence AND I happened to get it for Kelley for her birthday.  I had never actually made anything from it, and I figured that why not start now.

For those of you who haven’t read this book, or even looked through it, you should.  It’s got some amazing photos and ideas, and it’s very much out of the 70’s.  I also happen to be a big fan of strangers with candy, as well as her brother’s memoirs, so of course I wanted it as soon as I saw it.  You will too, if you seek it out.

Now, onto the recipe.

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/4 cups milk
Amy Sedaris’s Vanilla Buttercream Frosting I had leftover frosting in a can, so I cheated, but used lots of food coloring for fun

Now for her fabulous instructions: Turn oven on to 375 degrees F.

Put butter in mixer and beat at medium speed until somewhat smooth. Pour in sugar and beat well. Add 2 eggs. I like to crack the eggs on the side of the bowl while it is moving, which can be really stupid. I like to take chances. Yes, I have had to throw away my batter because I lost eggshells in the mix. Yes, it was a waste of food and yes, I know how expensive butter is, but what can I say? I’m a daredevil. Mix well. Add: vanilla, baking powder, salt, flour, and milk. Beat until it looks like it is supposed to and pour into individual baking cups, until they are about 2/3 full. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Should produce 24 cupcakes; I get 18 because I’m doing something wrong, although my cupcakes were voted second best in the city by New York Magazine.

Frost with Amy Sedaris’s Vanilla Buttercream Frosting.

