So let’s not even talk about how much of a slacker I have been…or the fact that I had all these recipes I was going to photograph and share with you, but I didn’t.  When I entertain, I usually get into this weird frenzy, and basically the camera goes out the window.  I plan and I plan, and then fail to take pictures, as something else comes up, or I’m running short on time, or I’m frantically running around with the vacuum or emptying cat litter…you know how it is.  I was going to (finally!) share my baklava, my pesto, and guacamole.  But no.  No pictures for you, so SOMEday I will share those beloved recipes.

Anyway, instead I am sharing another favorite, espresso brownies.  My sister in law’s husband could eat these for days.  And if you ask him what dessert he wants me to bring to their house, 9 times out of 10 it is these babies.  Which is just fine with me, since they start with a boxed mix, and I generally already have everything I need to make them.

My husband’s office will never turn these down, as I just felt like making brownies the other day, and yes, I did also feel like eating them all, but I knew that couldn’t happen.  So I sent them to work with him this morning (after sampling a few yesterday), and that will be the end of the espresso brownies…for today.  They’re great for entertaining, potlucks, family gatherings, you name it.

My blogiversary is coming up next week, and I am hoping to come up with something fantastic to celebrate…and I’ve also got another project in the works, a possible new blog (not shutting this one down, just expanding beyond the realm of food).  So lots of things going on!  And summer is finally in Boston!

Espresso Brownies

Nonstick vegetable oil cooking spray
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons espresso powder
1 (19.8-ounce) box brownie mix – I happen to use one that already has chocolate chunks in it
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, room temperature

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray a 9 by 13-inch baking pan with nonstick spray. Whisk 1/3 cup of water, oil, eggs, and 2 tablespoons espresso powder in a large bowl to blend.  I actually don’t add the espresso to the brownie mix, as I can be lazy, and have never really tasted the difference, so I make the brownies according to their instructions. Add the brownie mix. Stir until well blended.  Transfer the batter to the prepared baking pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the brownies comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, about 35 minutes. Cool completely.

Meanwhile, dissolve the remaining 2 teaspoons of espresso powder in the remaining 2 tablespoons of water in a medium bowl. Whisk in the vanilla. Add the powdered sugar and butter and whisk until smooth. Pour the glaze over the brownies. Refrigerate until the glaze is set. Cut into bite-size pieces. Arrange the brownies on a platter and serve.

