This post is about my anniversary dinner, which I know, occured over a week ago.  But it’s better late than never, right?  I’m glad we got that straightened out.  Instead of going out to our favorite nice restaurant in the city, Sel de la terre (best drinks and french fries, and the staff there is extremely nice, at least at the one on the harbor), we opted to stay home and cook.

One of the main reasons to stay home (not that staying home and enjoying one another’s company wasn’t enough), is because we are in the process of buying a loft!  Our very first place to call our own!  Well, our very first place we will own, as I like to call all our apartments our “own.”  And all our extra money, once we sign our lives away, will be going towards furniture.  I have been scouring craigslist, overstock, ebay, and will be going to my new favorite stores and flea markets to furnish the place.

It has actually always been my dream to live in a loft, and I’m really glad my husband was on the same page.  We’re moving to this fabulously old factory that was converted in 2004, and from the looks of it, there is a real community there.  There is a shared roofdeck, parking (!), and a gallery.  Hopefully that gallery will be just the push I need to start making art again.  We’ll see.  It’s a fabulous space with a fabulous kitchen, and it is perfect for entertaining, which we happen to love to do.  I grew up in an open floorplan, and this is taking it even further!  Not to mention there is laundry in our unit.  IN OUR UNIT!!!  I swear, sometimes it’s the little things.

We will be closing on the 30th of this month, and moving soon after that, so if you don’t hear so much from me…that’s why.  I am thinking of starting a spin off blog about decorating and design, and living in a totally different space, so keep an eye out for that in the not too distant future.  But now, back to what you came here for, dinner.

For dinner we had steak (more about that in a second), roasted potaoes (nice and crispy, just the way we like them), roasted green beans, and delicious rosemary bread (bought, not made).  For the steak, we go to Whole Foods and buy a really nice cut of meat, and then salt and pepper the heck out of it.  This time the husband used a wee bit too much salt (and kosher, to boot), but it was still pretty delicious.  Then we slap it on the grill, and that’s it!  No sauce, no nothing.  Just plain, simple, and delicious.

Now the dessert.  Oh, the dessert.  This is a recipe I found 2 winters ago, when I was scouring the internet for a delicious and easy dessert to make for Christmas at my in laws house (I don’t think they were technically my in laws yet at that point).  And I wanted it to be chocolate.  So on to the food network’s website I went, and looked through about a million different recipes.

This one caught my eye, and it’s a Nigella recipe, which often means easy and delicious.  Not pretentious, not always the most beautiful, but at least you know it’s going to taste pretty darn good.  And so I got all the ingredients, was gifted ramekins for Christmas, and after dinner everyone had drunk far too much wine to want any dessert.  This was actually Christmas Eve, so when we trekked to my parents house the next day, I ended up making these.  And they always get rave reviews.  Think somewhat molten chocolate cakes, but so much easier and confined to their own little ramekin.  I also like to top them with ice cream, it makes the whole experience that much better.

Chocohotpots (she actually calls them Chocohotopots, but I like my name better)

1 stick plus 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, with 60 percent cocoa solids (this time I accidentally used regular semi-sweet, and it was just fine)
2 eggs
3/4 cup superfine sugar
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
Special equipment: 4 (2/3 to 1-cup capacity) ramekins

Place a baking sheet in the oven and preheat to 400 degrees F.

Butter the ramekins with 1 tablespoon butter.

Either in a microwave or in a bowl suspended over a pan over simmering water, melt the dark chocolate and 1 stick butter, then set aside to cool a little.

In another bowl, mix the eggs with the sugar and flour with a hand whisk and beat in the cooled butter and chocolate mixture. Divide the mixture between the 4 buttered ramekins. Bake for about 20 minutes, by which time the tops will be cooked and cracked and the chocolate gooey underneath.

Place each ramekin on a small plate with a teaspoon and serve. Make sure to warn people that these desserts will be HOT!

