Meringues are a cookie from my childhood, one I would make when I was younger and sick of chocolate chip cookies.  My mom would pretty much always have the ingredients on hand, so that was never an issue when I wanted to make them.  They are an incredibly simple cookie to make, as long as you know what you’re doing when it comes to egg whites.

This past Easter I was looking for some sort of dessert to make.  I didn’t want anything too fussy that would take way more effort than necessary.  My husband happened to complain that I never make meringues, mind you, I never knew he liked them so much.  So I set out to get my old recipe from my mom.  In the past I had scoured the internet for a recipe similar to mine, but was never satisfied with what I had found.

Every recipe I had come across was not what I remembered.  They always cooked at a lower temperature, and some of them would do the old shut off the oven and let them sit for hours, or even overnight.  Some day I might try one of those recipes to see how they compare, but my recipe cooks them for about half an hour and that’s that.  And besides, I didn’t have overnight or hours to deal with.

In addition to making these for Easter (hence the pastel colors, although the green and blue looked the same once they came out of the oven), I made them for the lovely Laura Jean and her blog’s weekly Friday\’s Featured Artist.  I was not into the idea of drawing something, so she had suggested I bake a cupcake that reminded me of her, and I took it to another level.  I was quite proud of my creation, and the cookies were delicious as well!

Meringues

2 egg whites
3/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. cream of tartar
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 tsp. vanilla

This recipe can easily be doubled, which is what I did.

In a mixer using the whisk attachment, beat egg whites until foamy.  Add salt and cream or tartar, and continue beating until stiff enough to hold up in peaks, but make sure they don’t get dried out.

Add sugar – 2 tablespoons at a time, beating after each addition.  Fold in chocolate chips and vanilla.  If you want to color them, fold in food coloring at this time as well, and make sure you DO not stir, otherwise the whites will lose all of the air that has been added to them.

Drop in teaspoons on baking sheets lined with parchment, wax paper, or silicon baking mat (I can never say enough good things about those).  Bake at 300 for 25 minutes.  Remove from oven, let cool on baking sheet, and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Store in air tight container.

