I know I have already given you a pizza dough recipe, but this one happens to be my personal favorite.  I think Peter Reinhart knows what is up when it comes to bread, but I wasn’t a huge fan of his pizza dough.  This recipe takes a little over an hour and a half, while his requires overnight preparation.

This recipe also happens to make the perfect thin crust, in my opinion.  And at my house, we love pizza, especially thin crust pizza.  Pizza happens to be my husband’s FAVORITE food, so we eat it a lot.  Much like bread, I one day wondered to myself why we didn’t try making it ourselves.  I worked in 2 separate pizza places in high school and college, so I have a bit of a background in it.  And both of those places specialized in thin crust (one of which had a dessert pizza, I need to bring that back to my kitchen).

So this past fall we got a pizza stone, which I happen to believe is one of the secrets to fabulous homemade pizza.  The stone keeps the oven hot, and gives the pizza something really hot to cook on, much like a traditional pizza oven, without having to turn it up to temperatures into the 900’s.

I also like to toss my dough, which comes after a lot of practice and knowing how far you can stretch pizza dough (pretty darn far, more than you might normally think).  Rolling it out works just fine as well, you just might not get the thinner in the middle and thicker around the crust consistency if you roll it out.  Try tossing it, and see what happens!  Pizza making is an adventure, make it how you want, and don’t be afraid to try new toppings!  The sky is the limit when it comes to pizza!

This recipe comes from the book on Pizza, that can be found at Williams Sonoma.

Thin Crust Pizza Dough

3 1/3 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup whole-wheat flour
1 package (2 1/2 tsp.) quick-rise yeast
1 tb. sugar
1 tb. salt
1 1/4 cups warm water
2 tb. olive oil

In a food processor or standing mixer, combine the all purpose flour, whole wheat flour, yeast, sugar, and salt.  Pulse or mix the ingredients together.  With the motor running, add the water and olive oil in a steady stream, and continue to mix until the dough comes together in a rough mass.  If it does not form a ball, sprinkle with water until it does.  Let the dough rest for 5-10 minutes.  Mix again for 5+ minutes (or 25-30 seconds in a food processor).  The dough should be tacky to the touch but not sticky.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and form into a smooth ball.  Place the dough in a large oiled bowl, turn to coat with oil, and cover with plastic wrap.  Let the dough rise in a warm place (I use the top of the fridge) until doubled in bulk and spongy, about 1 1/2 hours.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface, punch it down, and shape into a smooth ball.  Divide the dough into 2 equal pieces (I use a good old chef’s knife for this).  Shape each piece into a smooth ball, cover with a kitchen towel, and let rest for 10 minutes (this does make a difference).

At this point you are ready to make pizza, so shape it as best you can, top, and bake!

