This is by no means a traditional trifle.  But it is a quite delicious and easy one, that was a staple at many holiday gatherings when I was growing up.  For Thanksgiving this year my mom brought homemade pies over, and if you’ve been keeping track, I don’t eat pie.  I don’t quite know what it is, considering my husband LOVES pie.

So for myself (and I thought my picky brother, who turns out does in fact eat pie), I decided to make a quick and easy dessert.  My mom couldn’t find her version of this recipe, but there are a million online, as well as the fact that it’s really not hard to make by just winging it.  Turns out my dad loved this, and kept calling it chocolate truffle.  He also had pie.

I also was able to use my pretty trifle bowl that I had gotten as a wedding gift from my brother (my mom picked it out).  I think that was probably the most exciting part.  I love pretty serving pieces.

Trifle

1 box chocolate cake mix
1 large box instant pudding
1 large container cool whip (or 2 of the regular sized ones, I think those cost less than the large one, even though it was the same size)
heath bars

Prepare cake according to directions on box.  Cool completely, and then crumble (not quite as if you were making cake balls).  Prepare pudding according to instructions.

Layer cake, pudding, and cool whip in a large bowl or trifle bowl.  Crush up some heath bars, and top.  Layer again.

Like I said, could not be any easier.  I happened to leave mine out, and my cool whip fell and wasn’t quite the same again, so I recommend refridgerating it.

