My lights happen to be in “storage” as I have started to quilt again, and my dining room table has now become my quilting studio.  Beef burgundy was slightly difficult to photograph with regular lighting, but I feel I got the point across.  It’s not a beautiful dish, but boy does it smell good.

Beef burgundy is a childhood favorite of mine, and according to my mother, the recipe we both use she got from a magazine back in the day, and it once was reserved for special occasions and company only.  I think that was long before my time, as we’d have it more often than that when I was growing up.

This recipe is not your traditional French recipe, but it’s really easy, and delicious to boot, so I don’t really care where it comes from.  It’s not my husband’s favorite dish, so I don’t make it as often as I might like to, although the other night when I kept taking the pot out of the oven to stir, I kept getting “that smells SO good!” from the other room.  I think he’s coming around.  Besides, the first time I ever made it for him, back in college, I made the onions WAY too big…and my cat ate around them completely when they were left on the plate, just so he could eat all the leftover sauce.  My cat is bizarre.

2 lb. chuck or round beef (you can use the pre cut stewing beef, it happens to be my best friend)
1 tb. kitchen bouquet (aka gravy master)
1/4 cup cream of rice
good handful of baby carrots (really you can use any veggies in this you’d like)
1 sm. onion, minced
1 clove minced garlic
2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
1/8 tsp. marjoram
1/8 tsp. thyme
1 cup dry red or burgundy wine (whatever red you have on hand is fine, you can drink the rest with dinner!)
egg noodles or rice (to serve beef on)

Cut beef into 1 1/2 inch cubes.  Place in an ovenproof casserole and toss with kitchen bouquet, coating meat on all sides.  Mix in cream of rice.  Add in carrots and remaining ingredients.  Mix gently.

Cover and bake in preheated 325 oven until meat and vegetables are tender, about 2 1/2 hours.  Stir meat every 30 minutes or so.  Serve with egg noodles or rice (I prefer egg noodles).

