I found this mousse recipe last year, after watching an episode of Nigella eats or bites or something like that.  I have recently come to love her style of cooking, she just throws some stuff into a pot or casserole and it comes out looking delicious.  She won’t win any awards for amazingly intricate presentation, but her food just LOOKS so delicious.

I saw her make this, and was slightly skeptical because it was one of her fast cooking episodes, she ran home to make mousse for dessert, and get this, the secret ingredient was MINI MARSHMALLOWS.  What?  There are no eggs, only marshmallows, and therefore all can enjoy.  I know the purists out there won’t love it, but it was really good and super easy to make.  We had it after salad last night, and my husband ate 3 bites and proclaimed he was full.  Not so much for me, I can power through during dessert, it’s my favorite meal of the day!

3 cups mini marshmallows
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
9 ounces best quality semisweet chocolate, chopped into small pieces (I used ghirardelli)
1/4 cup hot water from a recently boiled kettle
1 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Put the marshmallows, butter, chocolate and water in a heavy-based saucepan.

Put the saucepan on the stove, over heat, though keep it fairly gentle, to melt, stirring every now and again to keep from burning.  Remove from the heat (for a while, otherwise the whipped cream will just melt when you combine the two).

Meanwhile whip the cream with the vanilla until thick.

Then fold into the cooling chocolate mixture until you have a smooth, cohesive mixture.

Pour or scrape into 4 or 6 glasses or small dishes and chill until you want to eat. The sooner the better!

