I LOVE BBQ. Sometimes I think I should have been born in the South, but I guess I’ll settle for just getting married down there. Anyway, the other day I had a hankering for some pulled pork, it still being summer and all (although the weather would have you believing otherwise). This recipe could not be any easier, nor any more delicious (well, I suppose everything can be MORE delicious). I got a crockpot as a wedding gift, and was kind of weary of it’s power. I mean, you throw this giant piece of meat in it, with some seasonings, turn it on low for a few hours, and voila, you have a delicious meal you didn’t even have to watch? Well the crockpot sure proved me wrong, and I’m in love with it. Of course, the only thing I have used it for is pulled pork, but we’re getting there.

My husband and I made sandwiches with it, and he made his amazing mashed potatoes to go with it. I promise someday I will post that recipe, I didn’t want to get in his way in the kitchen the other night.

1 5lb shoulder roast, with bone (if you can find it without, you can go with a smaller size, but Stop and Shop only seems to carry bone in)
1 small chopped onion
1 12 oz. bottle of your favorite bbq sauce
3 to 4 Tb. honey
a few dashes of red pepper flakes for heat

Place pork roast into a slightly greased 3 1/2 to 5 quart slow cooker (mine is on the small side, so I had to force that bad boy in there. Don’t worry, it cooks down quite a bit).

Combine onion, bbq sauce, honey, and pepper flakes, and then pour over roast.

Cover and cook on low for 7 to 9 hours (or sometimes more, I put mine in before going to work, and we ate it around 8 or so). When pork is done, remove the fat (believe me, there will be a big hunk of fat, you don’t want to eat it, it just makes everything delicious while cooking) and shred using two forks. Reserve some of the juices from cooking, and pour over the pork to keep moist. Serve on buns and enjoy!

