I found this recipe on the crepes of wrath, via my new favorite obsession, Tastespotting. If you haven’t been over there, you really need to. It’s the best food site ever. Period. Anyway, I found these to look delicious, and while mine didn’t cook as well as they should have, they were pretty good. They were good on the outside, but the middle blondies were a little undercooked. I’d probably keep them in the oven for a little longer, should I try them again.

I was also thinking of cooking them in 2 regular pans, so maybe that would help make sure they get fully cooked. The batter was quite delicious though!

1 cup butterscotch chips (there was only one brand at my grocery store)
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups mini marshmallows
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease or line a 9×13 inch baking dish.

In a sauce pan over medium heat, melt the butterscotch chips and butter, stirring constantly until smooth. As soon as the they butter and chips are melted remove from heat and transfer the contents of the pan to a mixing bowl. Be sure not to over heat the butter and butterscotch chips or they will separate and appear curdled. Cool the mixture to room temperature.


Using an electric mixer, beat the vanilla and eggs into the butterscotch mixture. Then, gradually add the combined the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. When blended (the batter will be relatively thick) mix in the chocolate chips and marshmallows.

Spread the batter evenly into the prepared ban. Bake for about 25 minutes. The center will feel a little soft, but will firm while cooling. Let cool 2 -3 hours before cutting.

I think my mixture was a little more gooey than over on the crepes of wrath, and that could have to do with the fact that I’m impatient, and probably didn’t cool my mixture to completely room temperature…I kind of cringed when I added the eggs, for fear of scrambling them instead of incorporating them.

