This is yet another childhood summertime favorite of mine. I’m sensing a trend here… Anyway, this is something my mom would always make, and it’s similar to fried chicken, but not at the same time.  My mom informed me that it came from her childhood best friend (again, a trend).  We would always take this on picnics and to the beach (my birthday happens to fall during the summer, so we would go to Watch Hill in RI for my birthdays), and it’s delicious hot or cold. Although hot the outer coating is nice and crisp, and I could just eat that for dinner…

2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken (I use the tenders, no cutting necessary!)
2 eggs
1/3 cup milk
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 cup sesame seeds (you can find these in the spice aisle, or in the international/Asian spices)
6 tb. butter, melted with a clove of garlic

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray baking sheets with cooking oil spray (or Pam, for those of us not making this in 1979). Beat eggs and milk in a wide bowl. In a shallow dish, mix dry ingredients.

Dip each piece of chicken in egg and then flour to coat well. Repeat coatings of egg and flour (do not skip second round, and this is kind of messy, I tried tongs, and they worked pretty well, otherwise you coat your fingers in flour). Arrange in baking pan without overlapping.

Bake 30 minutes. Drizzle with melted butter, discarding the garlic. Continue baking another 30 minutes or until tender, golden, and crisp. No need to turn. Good either hot or cold. You could try baking on parchment, as even though you use Pam, it still sticks to the pan.

