After spending much time browsing various food blogs, I decided I wanted to make some sort of berry pie for my husband. I settled on blueberry, blackberry, and strawberry (actually my husband helped, since he was going to be eating it). Why not throw in raspberries you ask? Well, he doesn’t really like them in any sort of processed fashion, so we kept it to 3. But had it been just me, I would have gone with the fourth. Then again, I’m not the one eating it.

As I mentioned in my pie crust post, I don’t actually eat pie. I also don’t actually eat berries, and I’m still not totally sure why. I think a big part is the texture and seeds. Did I mention I was a picky eater?

Favorite pie crust, I used this one
1 pint blueberries
1 pint blackberries
1 pint strawberries
juice of one lemon
1/2 cup (or so) sugar
1/4 cup flour (you could try corn starch)
butter

Wash and dry the berries (and chop strawberries) and place in a bowl.

Add in lemon juice, sugar, and flour and mix gently. Roll out pie crust and place into a pie plate. Fill with berries, and dot with butter.

The above picture was me forgetting to take a photo of the berries in the pie before I put on the top crust. Seal your pie, cut vents in the top, and place in a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes. Turn down to 325 and cook for 25 minutes more. Mine actually took longer, and I’m not exactly sure why. My crust usually browns quite nicely, so I’m not sure what the deal was.

My pie was a little runny, so maybe next time I would substitute flour for corn starch. Although I don’t want that just came from the store look and feel. But it didn’t stop my husband for having a piece for breakfast, and another after getting home from work, for “photographic purposes.”

I almost forgot!  When you have leftover dough, just roll it out, coat in melted butter, and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top.  Roll it up into a log, and slice into pieces.  Pop into a 350 degree oven until brown, and enjoy.  My mom always made these for us when she made pie, and I absolutely love them!

