This pie crust is so easy, and comes out great every time. I only recently started making pies (and I still don’t even eat them, my husband loves them, and loves me for making pies for him and him only), and the first time I made dough…well, it didn’t turn out so well. I had found the recipe online, so I decided to turn to friends and family, and get their tried and true recipes. This one is from my mom and came from her cuisinart cookbook, so it could not be any easier. Chances are you have all the ingredients in your kitchen already (I did).

2 2/3 cups all purpose flour
2 sticks very cold butter
1 tsp. salt
1/2 cup ice water

Insert the metal blade and put the flour, butter, and salt in the work bowl. Process for 8 to 10 seconds, or until the mixture is like coarse meal.

While the processor is running, pour the ice water through the feed tube in a steady stream. Stop processing as soon as the dough begins to form a ball. Do not overprocess.

Divide the dough and any little scraps on the bottom of the bowl into two equal parts and put each in a plastic bag. Work through each bag to press the dough into a ball, and then into a disc.

Refrigerate dough for at least 2 hours or overnight, or freeze it.

