finished product

finished product

I decided last night to try Pioneer Woman’s Hot Crash Potatoes…and what I ended up with was not as pretty. I think my potatoes were a little too big (and therefore just kind of mashed when I tried to “crash” them). But in the past I have learned that even if it’s not so pretty, it’s still delicious – just ask my husband about the first time I made meatloaf.

They are simple to make, and quite delicious, no matter what they look like.

New Potatoes (or any small potato)
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Fresh Herbs (I used rosemary, yum)

Boil potatoes in salted water until they are tender, and drain.

boiling potatoes

boiling potatoes

Drizzle a cookie sheet with olive oil so the potatoes don’t stick (and it helps make them crispy on the bottom). Place the potatoes on the cookie sheet, so that they have space between one another to spread out. Using a potato masher, press down on the potatoes until they slightly mash (mine mashed a lot). Brush the potatoes with olive oil, and finish with salt, pepper, and fresh herbs.

right before going into the oven

right before going into the oven

Put into a 450 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, or until nice and crispy. Remove and enjoy!

