Caesar Salad

Caesar Salad

One of my very best friends first made this salad for me. It’s based off of Emeril’s Caesar salad, but she would always jazz it up a bit, with chicken and instead of croutons, she’d use a big loaf of crusty bread to soak up the salad dressing, delish!

Whitney is not a big cook (she’d always come over to my apartment for dinner), but this was her go to dish, and once you make it, you’ll understand why.

When I made it I halved it (for just my husband and myself), as this salad won’t really keep overnight. I also cheated and used salad from a bag, but hey, it’s still homemade.

4 garlic cloves
4 egg yolks*
2 anchovies
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
Juice of two fresh lemons
1 cup olive oil
Salt
Cracked black pepper
2 large heads of romaine lettuce, washed, ribbed and patted dry
3 ounces Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
12 ounces of salad croutons

Rub the inside of a large wooden bowl with the garlic cloves. Remove the garlic cloves, and finely chop. Add the egg yolks, remaining garlic, anchovies and mustard to the bowl. Whisk until all of the ingredients are incorporated. Whisk in the lemon juice. Slowly drizzle in the olive oil, while whisking constantly. Season the dressing with salt and pepper.

Caesar Dressing

Caesar Dressing

Gently tear the lettuce into bit-size portions and add to the salad bowl. Using a hand-held grater, grate the cheese into the bowl. Add the croutons. Toss the salad completely and reseason if necessary. Serve the salad on cold salad plates.

Salad Parts

Pre-Assembly

*If you are pregnant or a small child, you probably shouldn’t consume the dressing, as it has raw egg yolks.  I kept mine cold for as long as possible, so there was less chance of salmonella.

